General Discussion Triathlon Talk » thoughts on gait analysis Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-02 7:33 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: thoughts on gait analysis
I have been running consistently for 4 years. Volume varied at different times, as the last 2 years were devoted to IM training. It seems that when I hit 30 mpw, I run into issues - like shin splints, this pain above my left ankle (only comes back at this volume), etc. I know I supinate by the wear pattern on my running shoes. I'm coming back from a cycling accident at the moment so really just frequent, short runs for the next month, but I'd really like to do a barryp style run focus Nov-Jan and put in some serious miles. The Cleveland Clinic offers gait analysis at their sports medicine institute.

Would gait analysis be useful for someone like me? General thoughts on if this is helpful for a runner? Or complete waste of time and money?

2014-10-02 1:28 PM
in reply to: jarvy01

User image

Regular
Portland, Oregon
Subject: RE: thoughts on gait analysis
For most people, the information from a gait analysis isn't really actionable. IF they are diagnosed with a funky step and IF they think that changing that would be better for them, they rarely permanently transform their stride and end up regressing back to their original ways. In the mean time, they'll most likely end up with other weird injuries as they are forcing their legs to move in different ways.

I'd say it is a waste of money. The Barry P plan is probably a safer way for you to stack on miles since it does have a lot of slow days which just might work for you.

I've had some weird lingering splints and I've thought about doing as much riding (so little running) as I can until winter hits. My thinking is that those splints may heal up so that once the weather is bad, I can start ramping up a similar high run volume winter. (But, then I signed up for an early November HM, oh well!)
2014-10-02 6:21 PM