General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Best Triathlon Freestyle Swimming Training Videos Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-02 8:50 AM

User image

Calgary, Alberta
Subject: Best Triathlon Freestyle Swimming Training Videos
Hey!

I'm a novice to maybe even intermediate level swimmer. I'm looking for the best triathlon freestyle self coaching videos out there. When I google search, "total immersion" seems to be popular. Would their videos be the best choice?

I'm looking at the self help option because I decided to join a masters swim and it's really not working out. I can keep up with the workouts but basically the only direction given is what he writes on the board for the day. During rest periods I try to ask questions about technique correction and he isn't helpful at all. Responses like "ya breathing on both sides is just harder to do". Needless to say I'm frustrated. I didn't join a masters swim to continue muscling through the water.

Thanks in advance for the help guys.

2014-10-02 9:01 AM
in reply to: jperchard

Subject: RE: Best Triathlon Freestyle Swimming Training Videos
If this is like other forums then it's likely there will be a big argument about whether TI is good or not. Personally, even from a swimming background, I have made great gains using the Swim Smooth site. It's not really a style that you adopt as such as it tries to recognise swim types based on your background an habits and then works to improve.

They have loads of great free info on their site www.swimsmooth.com and I'd say it is well worth checking out.
2014-10-02 10:06 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

There are a variety of methods out there, but it you look below the surface (pun intended), there's a lot of commonality in the fundamentals.  Things like reducing drag, head alignment, generating power from the core, early catch, etc.