General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New Guy Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-02 9:24 PM

Austin, Texas
Subject: New Guy
Hey everyone! Glad to have found this site and seems like there will be a lot of great support here! I'm not new to forums, but new here so figured this was the appropriate place to make a first post

My name is Travis and I'm in Austin, TX (which, from lurking a little bit, seems to have some solid representation here).
I've never done a triathlon before, but am excited to do my first one!

A bit about myself, I'm a law student at UT (hence my username) and coming from a background of working a lot while being in school I needed a new hobby. I have a friend who is a triathlete who convinced me to consider it, and now here I am about 2 months after starting considering it and have finally decided on pursuing a race next year.

Currently I'm working on cycling and running. I'm not much of a swimmer, but as it gets cold I'm not so sure about tackling that currently, although I may revisit that idea now that I know I have pool access on campus to indoor pools during the winter. I'm currently running at a 5K distance, and have previously done 10Ks so working to get back to that. I bike primarily on weekends and am currently riding 40-50 miles per session.

Other than this adventure and law school, I also like to jump out of airplanes for fun so it is interesting to have a hobby that keeps me so close to the ground!

Hope to be around the boards a bit and get some great advice!

Best,
Lawhorn

2014-10-02 9:34 PM
in reply to: #5056373

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: New Guy
Welcome. Sounds like you have a solid plan. However, you need to start swimming as much as possible.
2014-10-02 9:35 PM
in reply to: 0

Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: New Guy