General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie to Ironman Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-07 6:05 PM

Subject: Newbie to Ironman
Hi All,
I am planning on doing an Ironman in 12-15 months from now. This might be hard but "anything is possible", right?

My background is ultra-running, although I stopped long distances for almost a year. I am planning to start again with a 1/2 marathon next January
I am also a xc mountain biker, with zero experience on road bikes.
I think my weakest discipline would be swimming, I get tired easily after few laps. I think breathing is the problem for me, I know I need to focus big time on technique. I am planning on joining swimming classes soon. btw I am a freediver so I am okay with openwater.

I did a sprint distance few years back, but that was it.

I have few inquiries:
- Any recommendation on training plans for my case? there are so many plans out there that varies a lot, I don't know where I should start from?
- I am 5 ft 5, and I am looking to purchase a triathlon bike. From what I have read on the internet a frame size of small (51, 52) would fit me. Is that right? I am also a bit limited with funds. So I am planning to buy a used bike. Where can I look for used triathlon bikes in uk?

Thank you in advance
Fakahany

2014-10-08 6:42 AM
in reply to: fakahany

User image

Subject: RE: Newbie to Ironman
before focusing on training plans, i would potentially look for a swim coach and get some dedicated time working on that - because if you can't swim well that you'll have issues down the road

bike wise - the most general advice is always get a bike fit first - don't just buy sight unseen - you could end up with more issues than it is worth. do you have a local bike shop near you? talk to them, let them know what you need, give them price range etc - with it approaching the end of 2014, you may be able to get a deal with the new season bikes coming in
2014-10-08 10:32 AM