General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2015-05-25 5:42 PM
in reply to: ChrisM

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada
Subject: RE: Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon : Official Thread

Originally posted by ChrisM

BTW, I'll believe it when I see it, and way too soon to be accurate, but accuweather forecasting an 82 degree day

I did a 50 min run in 77 degrees today - that was warm enough.

2015-05-26 8:44 AM
in reply to: dprocket

User image

Expert
Albuquerque, NM
No booties here.
I've made the swim a couple of times in the past... cold feet were never an issue for me.
2015-05-26 8:54 AM
in reply to: RockTractor

User image

Veteran
Shawnee
I think you all have convinced me to bypass the booties. I've done a few cold swims before (not this cold) and apart from numbness in T1, it's not been a problem.

How about the run to T1? What's your gameplan there?
2015-05-27 10:15 AM
in reply to: dprocket

User image

Originally posted by dprocketI think you all have convinced me to bypass the booties. I've done a few cold swims before (not this cold) and apart from numbness in T1, it's not been a problem. How about the run to T1? What's your gameplan there?
I put a small water bottle and a pair of shoes (zoot slip on) for the run in the bag they'll provide. Take off the wetsuit,stuff it in the bag and go
2015-05-27 12:03 PM

Chris,
How hard is it to find your bag for the run to the transition area? I've read a few reviews where people had a hard time finding their bags. I would prefer to run in shoes, but I don't want to spend 10 minutes finding my bag.

Thanks for any advice.
2015-05-28 4:40 PM
in reply to: catincolorado

User image