General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about Pool Swim Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-16 11:25 AM

User image

New user

Subject: Question about Pool Swim Tri
Hey all,
This is my first pool-swim tri and I have NO experience with diving into the water especially while wearing goggles. I practiced it at the local pool yesterday but kept ending up with my goggles being knocked off or filled with water.
My questions:
Do they allow you to get into the pool and kick off the wall to start when it's your turn?
If not, is there a technique I can use to dive while not knocking my goggles off?

Thanks for any help on this,
Amy

2014-10-16 11:35 AM
in reply to: ttpharmd

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: RE: Question about Pool Swim Tri
In my days as a swimmer in high school, this was one of my biggest issues. I've tried a number of ways to keep them on. One thing to work on is when you dive in put your head down (your chin into your chest) and hold your arms tight against your head, that helps a lot as your head will then deflect the flow. Another thing you can do is pull the edge of your swim cap over the top of your goggles. I've never tried that one personally, but have seen other swimmers do it. Also look at how bulky your goggles are, the smaller they are, the less drag they will induce.

The thing about starting is that every once in a while it's going to happen. If it's not a sprint race (I mean like a 50 or 100yd race) just stop, tread water for a second, and put them back on. I swam the 500 in high school and had to do that more than once, and still ended up winning some of the time. Just don't touch the bottom or you may get DQ'ed.
2014-10-16 11:39 AM

I have never done a pool tri but I don't see them making you dive. To be honest I would not be surprised if they made everyone start in the water.

2014-10-16 11:41 AM
in reply to: 3mar

Originally posted by 3mar