Socalultrarunning
71F / 22C
Sunny
Total Time = 5h 20m 33s
Overall Rank = 3/40
Age Group = M 50-59
Age Group Rank = 1/8
Pre-race routine:

This was a bit of an impulse race: I've been considering moving up to ultra distances since 2012, but the lower back strain I've been rehabbing since that summer put that on the back burner. Saw a post on Facebook about this race a few weeks ago and decided to see if I could get ready for it on short notice, since it was a new race, new race series, and relatively local.

Started ramping up my Sunday long runs (from the usual ~11 miles) on September 28, giving me four weeks to get to a target of 22+ miles and build my volume of climbing as well. I've been dealing with Achilles and metatarsalgia issues in my right foot and ankle and a recurrence of my chronic PTT in my left arch, so I wasn't sure how an aggressive build would go, but everything was manageable. After a 22.22 mile run (about 40% trails) with ~3000' of climbing on 10/19, I decided to register.
Event warmup:

Just tried to stay warm until the sun came up in the canyon where the start/finish area was.
Run
  • 5h 20m 33s
  • 50 kms
  • 06m 25s  min/km
Comments:

First ultra distance race. Generally went very well. Ran all of it--including some brutally steep climbs just before and after the marathon distance point--except for a total of 0.33 miles of walking during the last two long climbs (0.13 miles at 28.4 and three brief stretches totaling 0.20 miles at 29.9).

I was told at the next-to-last aid station that I was in fourth and the third place runner had just left...I saw him almost immediately, walking the long climb out of the aid station. Ran past him on the grade and never saw him again. At the last aid station, they told me I was third overall. Somehow, though, at the finish, I was listed in the results as fourth.