General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Texas! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-27 12:43 PM

User image

Subject: Hello from Texas!
Hello! I'm new to this whole thing. I've tried exercising (walking and biking) before but I haven't been good about sticking with it long enough to see results. But now some of my goals and motivations have changed so I'm going to try again. I've always thought triathletes seemed cool (run, bike, AND swim?! They can do everything!) so I've decided to try working towards that myself. I'm 22 and 50+ pounds overweight, so I know it will take a lot of work, but better now than later, right?
The real problem is...I can't swim and don't have access to a pool or lessons. But I don't really want to put off starting until that comes along. The beginner exercise programs look really good, but does it work to replace the swimming with biking or running? Also, I can only bike outside and on dirt (the roads here are NOT safe). I would really appreciate some advice!

2014-10-27 2:04 PM
in reply to: gekkounonetsu

User image

Deep in the Heart of Texas
Subject: RE: Hello from Texas!

Welcome.  It is a good idea to start building a base in running and cycling even though you don't have access for swimming yet.  My best advice would be to pick a plan that starts at your fitness level and stay committed to it.  Commitment goes farther than motivation - it's commitment that gets me out of be at 4:30 to run when I'm motivated to go back to sleep.  There is nothing wrong with starting slow and starting with walk breaks.  If you have to walk a minute for every 2 minutes of running, fine.  A starting point is just that - your endurance will improve gradually and you are less likely to get injured.  It might help to pick intermediate goals  - 5k fun run, organized, supported bike ride, etc.