General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Marine Triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-28 6:52 AM

User image

Dulles , Virginia
Subject: Marine Triathlete
Good Morning Ladies and Gents,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Dakota and I am a Marine. I have always loved endurance sports but never competed. I swam 3 years Varsity for my high school and have ran a few half marathons. I never really got into biking though. I have always wanted to complete an Ironman and triathlons in general. I am looking to get started in this sport. To me, I have always lifted weights and done many of calisthenics exercises. I am a personal trainer too. I think its time to look at something new since I'm completely burnt out on weightlifting, I am not even motivated to do nothing but weights. I have recently been looking in my area for bikes. I am unsure what my necessities for a beginner are when buying a bike. Obviously a bike, helmet and shoes. But what other things do you all recommend. I will continue to scrub the forums for answers. Right now I am looking at a Bianchi Via Nirone 7, but have recently found package deals online at sites like Nytro.com and TriSports.com... Anyone have input on this??

Anyways enough about that, I look forward to chatting with you people on all things TRI.

Stay motivated, keep kickin' and takin' names,

Dakota

2014-10-28 2:33 PM
in reply to: smithdakotad

User image

Denver, CO
Subject: RE: Marine Triathlete

Welcome, Dakota!  You'll find that the tri community is pretty cool and very accepting of newbies.  Keep checking out the various forums here, especially Tri Talk and Gear Questions and use the "search" function.  You'll find answers to most all of your questions.  Even if you find a lot of "it depends," you'll at least get a variety of perspectives.