General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » go berserk! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-29 2:16 PM

Subject: go berserk!
Hey everyone,
I'm brand new to Triathalon training. I played baseball and soccer all my life, then went into more bodybuilding workout around 19 or 20.
I'm 25 now, 6 ft ~210lbs ~17%bf. I've been looking into doing this for a couple months and decided over the weekend to invest my time into making this my new hobby/sport!

My cardio is decent but not great. My resting hr is between 50-60, my hr after running is 155, swimming 135, and biking is 95(which i have a question about at the end of this post.)

I'm in the LA/OC area and would to find about groups that meet or anyone looking to train as I don't know really anyone that does triathalons.

I'm not sure what else to say, but I have a couple of questions:

1. Is it possible to retain most of my muscle mass? I realize this sport is going to require a leaner physique which I am looking forward to, but can I maintain muscle while training?

2. I'm on the second day of a 13 week plan (I think I got from this site) and it was a 30 minute bike. I was a little nervous for it as I never ride a bike. So I did the 30 minutes on a stationary in the gym and I didn't break a sweat and my hr didn't go past 95bpm (according to S Health on the galaxy)
I feel like I didn't push myself very hard. I would have pedaled faster by my lower quad was starting to feel the burn. Should I just wait for my body to adust to the new workouts before worrying about breaking a sweat/hr?

Looking forward to gaining a lot from this website and progressing through the weeks, thanks everyone!

2014-10-29 4:34 PM
in reply to: goberserk

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: go berserk!

You fit right in here on the berserk bus welcome to BT and triathlon!

1. Yes