General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Better to start with a Duathlon? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-11-03 9:07 AM

Subject: Better to start with a Duathlon?
Morning everyone!

Newbie here, so I'm sure this question has been asked before but I was having trouble finding a thread. I am just starting to get into a fitness plan of anysort. Three months ago I was a confirmed couch potato. My long term goal is to complete a full IM, but I'm starting to wonder if trying to train for 3 disciplines right off the bat is realistic. I can see if someone came to the Tri life with a background in one discipline then picking up the other two may not be so hard. But I'm finding trying to train for 3 disciplines when I have zero background is .... well.... challenging to say the least! So I'm wondering if you would advise starting with a Duathlon type of training first where I can focus on the bike and run portions for a year, and then add in the swim later, or should I just put my big boy pants on and get through all 3? I know there's no "wrong" answer since either way I'm still off the couch and training! I'm just curious to see what others may think

Thanks!

2014-11-03 9:49 AM
in reply to: pgorman

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: Better to start with a Duathlon?