General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon bike advice please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-11-05 9:26 PM

Subject: Triathlon bike advice please
Ok I've been doing triathlons now for 4 years. Started slowly with sprints, added OLYs and did my first HIM this season. I'm a good swimmer and am usually one of the first to T1....unfortunately the same bikes i see in T1 are there in T2 meaning most seem to pass me during the ride (ok i'm not that great a runner either but that's beside s the point)....I currently own a '13 trek Domane with no upgrades (wheels, aerobars etc.) so thinking of getting a tri bike but don't want to break the bank. Researched what's in my price range and went to 3 LBS who carry Tri bikes (also been looking at Craigslist, Ebay, Tri N Sell it). Surprisingly the responses from the bike shops were completely different and confused me more:

LBS #1 - I ride a 54 road bike with a short 90cm stem and have my handlebars relatively low or aggressively placed. This place had a '14 P2 54 in my price range (though I'd prefer ultegra like my domane). He put me on the bike on a trainer, did some basic leg measurements and said that looks great. Obviously we will make more adjustments when your "fitted".

LBS #2 - also had a P2 (and trek speed concept). But strangely enough he didn't push towards even purchasing a tri bike. He said buy some aerobars (not specifically from him) and we could play with your road bike (eg turning the seat tube around) to put you in a tri like position, but obviously not a true tri bike - but enough for most people - I'm a MOP finisher -do you need a tribike for a few races a year.