General Discussion Triathlon Talk » St Anthony's Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-11-10 8:15 PM

Subject: St Anthony's Triathlon
So this seems to be a huge triathlon and seems to be very popular. I'm new to triathlons this year and am planning on doing this event next year. What makes this event so popular? It attracts some pros and just has a huge field.

2014-11-11 5:11 PM
in reply to: TriTampa2

User image

Champion
Williamston, Michigan
Subject: RE: St Anthony's Triathlon

Originally posted by TriTampa2 So this seems to be a huge triathlon and seems to be very popular. I'm new to triathlons this year and am planning on doing this event next year. What makes this event so popular? It attracts some pros and just has a huge field.

Its a wonderfully done race.  It is considered the season opener and attracts a world class field of pros.  Its been around a long time.  its an Ironman feel at an Oly distance race.  One of my favorites. 

2014-11-13 12:38 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Expert
Bradenton, Florida
Originally posted by TriTampa2

What makes this event so popular?

The overall atmosphere surrounding the event is great. Some of the specifics from my experiences:

The lady at check-in that threatened to kill the volunteer if he read her weight out loud. They actually make you step on a scale if you race Athena or Clydesdale.

A real race expo. I learned so much from spending time with vendors and other triathletes, if you're new, this is invaluable.

Saturday bike check-in. This qualifies as "big time" in my book.

Now that the swim course has been changed, knowing that you should be able to get the swim in. There were a few years where this race was a duathlon.

Getting passed by pros in T1 as they are leaving T2. Those guys, and gals, are FAST!!!

Bottle exchange on the bike course. Is it really needed? Probably not, but it was nice to practice that aspect of a race before my first HIM.