General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Biking Tips Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-12-06 8:58 AM

User image

, Massachusetts
Subject: Biking Tips
I'm relatively new to triathlons with a background in running. I've put quite a bit of effort into improving my swimming with good results, but I'm a little overwhelmed by all the biking info out there. If you had to share your top 2 or 3 bike training tips, what would they be? Thanks!

2014-12-06 9:09 AM
in reply to: dgconner154

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: Biking Tips

1. Ride more.

2. Ride more.

3. Ride more.

2014-12-06 9:11 AM

User image

Richland, Washington
Let's start with some background. Where do you live? Do you have to train indoors in the winter? That makes a huge difference in some of the tips.
The basic tips. Make sure to get a bike fit, you'll be in the saddle for a while, it's best to have the bike be an extension of your body. Cycle often. The best way to get better at the bike is to ride a lot. Make sure you have a good helmet, don't go cheap there. After my "spectacular" crash in Canada I will swear that my helmet saved my life. If you can find a group to ride with on the weekends it will help you get into biking a bit easier. Most groups are always welcoming to new people. My cycling group gets a new person every couple of weeks. We started with 3, now there are 8 of us. It's a great way to learn from others.
2014-12-06 9:24 AM
in reply to: #5072551

User image

Groningen, Netherlands
Actually since all cycling helmets need to pass safety tests there is generally no difference between cheap or expensive helmets. Now when youre talking about fit, ventilation, weight, snazzy colors, then yes. But safety, no.