General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Endurance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-12-13 7:34 PM

User image

Subject: Swim Endurance
I have a newbie question: How do I improve my swim endurance? Basically, I am a beginner swimmer, and can go 100 without stopping, but have a hard time going further. I have been doing 10 sec rest between 25 m lengths and have got up to 200. Any thought and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I should add, I'm training for a sprint with hopes of doing an Olympic.

Edited by docpodjy 2014-12-13 7:37 PM

2014-12-13 8:17 PM
in reply to: docpodjy

Subject: RE: Swim Endurance

I'm not a good swimmer, but I've been where you are now. Just keep swimming. Its a simple answer, but its all you really have to do. Just get to the pool as much as you can fit it into your schedule.

Watch videos, get lessons if you can, but most importantly, just keep swimming. The more you swim, the faster it will "click."

In 2012 I decided to do my first tri, an Olympic in July, as of April I would max out at 100 yards before I needed a rest. I went to the pool 5-6 days a week at the time and was determined to "figure it out." I was decently fit, but couldn't go more than 100 yards. I remember going to the pool one morning and was venting to one of the "regulars" about how I could only go 100 yards. He said, go swim 150. And I thought, ok fine, I'll probably die, but I'll do it.

I made it. I remember it was only 2 weeks later and I swam 3800 yards non-stop. On top of just learning to swim correctly, I think for many people there is this mental barrier that they need to get past. Your mind will go into a "panic mode" while you are face down in the water after so much time and will force you to want to rest. You have to just relax yourself and convince yourself that you are going to go farther than 100 yards.