General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Basic ,threshold and overload training and heartrate Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-09 6:43 AM

Subject: Basic ,threshold and overload training and heartrate
Hi,I have been researching basic,threshold and overload training for the swim leg of triathlons.The recommended heart rate varies for each of the 3 training levels.Does these heart rates for the 3 training levels differ for the swim,bike and run training for a triathlon?

I'm new to this type of training so I hope the question doesnt sound daft. Cheers.

2015-01-09 7:38 AM
in reply to: Turbo123

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Basic ,threshold and overload training and heartrate
Originally posted by Turbo123

Hi,I have been researching basic,threshold and overload training for the swim leg of triathlons.The recommended heart rate varies for each of the 3 training levels.Does these heart rates for the 3 training levels differ for the swim,bike and run training for a triathlon?

I'm new to this type of training so I hope the question doesnt sound daft. Cheers.

these probably map to EN1, EN2, EN3 "zones". You will probably be better off going by pace rather than HR, but yes the HR values would be different than bike and run.

Google EN1, EN2, EN3, swimming and you will find tons of info on it including pacing and rest time for different sets in those zones
2015-01-09 12:07 PM
in reply to: marcag

Marcag,thanks for the reply.I should have said I'm a swimmer and familiar with E1,E2 and E3 in swimming terms..I was wondering if the heart rates assocciated with E1,E2 and E3 when swimming are different for the cycling or running.Hope that makes sense.Ta again mate.
2015-01-09 2:47 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by Turbo123