General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Medial Plica Syndrome Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-20 7:50 AM

User image

Camden, NC
Subject: Medial Plica Syndrome
Was recently diagnosed with medial plica syndrome (pain on the inside of my knee) after an MRI and I am still learning how to deal with this overuse injury. Seems like it is taking forever to heal, as with most overuse injuries, but was wondering if anyone out there has experienced this type of injury and the time and process it took to heal it. I have heard of people getting the plica removed or shaved or resected, but just don't want to create more problems with surgery if I can avoid that. My PT has put me on a simple walk/run plan, but still seems to get aggravated at the slightest bit of running. Will probably try a shot next...thanks for insight on any experiences out there!

2015-01-20 1:34 PM
in reply to: HercDriver

User image

Regular
Akron
Subject: RE: Medial Plica Syndrome
bad experience with mine for a year. Had it shaved this past August because I couldn't do any type of exercise ( including swimming) for more than 15 minutes with out getting a bad stabbing/ intermittent pain. My ortho didn't even really think it was plica, but after I exhausted all my options after a year and I mean everything I had him scope it. He said it was only mildly pink when he scoped it, but it must have taken care of it because the next day I rode my bike for 20 minutes and took off from there. It's sad that it took so long, but am happy with the results. I also had a minor chondroplasty under the knee cap ( very slight roughening of cartilage). I never had any pain from the surgery and never took a pain pill. shwew! I've read about bad experiences, so I was really worried. Exhaust your options first and good luck!
2015-01-21 5:21 AM
in reply to: SEADOCHA

User image

Camden, NC
Subject: RE: Medial Plica Syndrome