General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Noobie From Houston Texas Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-20 4:36 PM

Subject: Noobie From Houston Texas
Howdy!

I am a rookie triathlete who has signed up for the Ironman 30.3 in Galveston Texas. After reading through the forums a bit, I slightly regret that choice haha.

I am a competitive runner and I've completed the MS150 multiple times. I however do not know how to swim. I can flail around and not drown in a pool for the most part but that is definitely the extent of my skill set.

Look forward to calling myself a triathlete.

Y'all take care.

In Hoc Signo Vinces

2015-01-21 7:29 AM
in reply to: IHSV

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: Noobie From Houston Texas

You don't know how to swim and you're going to attempt to swim 1.2 miles in 14 weeks?  Gotta ask... WHY?

2015-01-21 11:42 AM
in reply to: GMAN 19030

Ignorance or sheer determination. I vacillate between the two.
2015-01-21 2:46 PM

User image

Master
San Antone, Texas
Good luck, dude. Seriously!
That is pretty nuts, but not unheard of.
I tried a few sprints and Olympics before I went to 70.3, but to each his own.

Galveston is a nice race though. I did it a few years ago, thought the swim wasn't too bad. I had a lucky year where it seemed to be a tail wind both going out and coming back on the bike. The run was a bit boring though.

Be sure to get as much open water swim training as you can between now and then. I know that's a bit hard this time of year, but trust me you'll want to do that before the race.
2015-01-21 3:22 PM
in reply to: djastroman

User image

New user
Houston, Texas
Originally posted by djastroman

Be sure to get as much open water swim training as you can between now and then. I know that's a bit hard this time of year, but trust me you'll want to do that before the race.