General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I'm a roadie now...I think?? What to wear? Join a club/team? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-21 11:36 AM

User image

Veteran
the Sipp
Subject: I'm a roadie now...I think?? What to wear? Join a club/team?
I've been doing tri's for a few years now...some 70.3s and IMFL in 2013. I spent most of last year trying (unsuccessfully) to run after having a serious back surgery and now my knees won't allow me to run either, due to chondromalacia. BUT the good news is that I do not have any issues while riding...yet!
So...I'm hanging up the wetsuit and running shoes and I've just traded my tri bike for a Pinarello Dogma and I'm ready to transform into a roadie.

I need some bibs...all i have currently are some IM70.3 bike shorts which are ok but are gonna have to be relegated to the trainer. I've read the rules http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/so I know as a roadie i now have to wear bibs, socks and sleeves and all that now. My question is do i need to get a plain old Castelli kit (or similar) or can i grab a Road ID kit like this https://www.roadid.com/Common/Catalog.aspx?C=apparel-cycling-tri? Seems kinda silly really but I know a pro team kit is kinda frowned upon and I really don't want one anyway, but is a "Road ID" or maybe a "Pinarello" kit still considered 'faux pas' ?? I like my kit to match and I don't really see alot of plain kits out there that really strike me...Or should I go ahead and try to join a team and buy their kit instead??