General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Full-Time Runner Training Schedule? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-22 7:28 PM

Subject: Full-Time Runner Training Schedule?
Hello,

I really want to do a triathlon, but I run for my school 6 days a week. I am most likely going to do St. Anthony's Olympic Triathlon in April. I don't have any time for biking and swimming on those days (unless I got up early in the morning). What should I make my training schedule like? I have never done a full triathlon before (I once did the bike and run). I am 16 years old and have very good cardio already (mile pr: 4:47). I usually run about 7 miles a day and my long runs have been as long as 16 miles. I'd appreciate some help. Should I keep the 7th day of the week as a day off, or train? If so, what should I train and how far should I go? Also, I haven't suffered from any injuries in my two years of competitive running.

2015-01-22 9:31 PM
in reply to: salasp17

User image

Regular
Portland, Oregon
Subject: RE: Full-Time Runner Training Schedule?
Unless you want to cut into your running, you won't be able to train enough for the bike and swim. Sure, you could add a few of each on top of your current load, but your runs will suffer.

The bike shouldn't be a problem. Just try to ride enough that you know you'll not be pulling anything out there. The swim is different. Swimming a mile (or a little less), especially in open water is tough for the recreational swimmer. So you'll need to put in some time there. The good thing is that those workouts won't take nearly as much out of you as a bike ride, and so you can keep on running 6 days.

...so I would try to swim twice and ride once a week and you'll make it through the race, and pass a lot of people on the run. After your run season is over, consider reallocating some of your running hours to the other sports.
2015-01-23 9:36 AM

User image

Pro

Can you swim 1500m? Are you comfortable on a bike?