General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Fit Advise Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-26 9:43 PM

User image

Richland, Washington
Subject: Bike Fit Advise
I am relatively new to the tri game. Last year was my first ever triathlon season. I bought a new (to me) Tri bike to get into this a little more and to probe to the wife that I am serious about the sport.

Anyway, looking for a bit of advise on fit. I had my wife take a video from the side to analyze. Seems I have the seat height fairly close, but I feel like my arms are stretched out. Either I need to move forward on the seat... or move the seat forward... of maybe shorten the stem?

I look at pictures of others in the TT position and it seems like for lack of better description the nose of the seat is right smack in the taint. Which I do not find comfortable at all. I am used to hours on my sit bones but either I don't "get it" or the nose of my seat is not soft enough...

Could be I just need to HTFU? :D

Advise from those a bit more experienced than I would be appreciated.

I have a video here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74V1A9XsYjQ

2015-01-26 9:51 PM
in reply to: Gregwarro

User image

Subject: RE: Bike Fit Advise
I'm no bike expert but it looks like you may need to move your seat forward. Looks like your stretching too far forward.
2015-01-26 10:52 PM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Multiple things.. first, you're rocking side to side which indicates your seat is too high. You're a bit too far back (although that's not necessarily a problem) which may restrict your breathing. You're front end looks a bit too high as you're not rotating your pelvic forward (probably related to seat height and to position in relationship to bottom bracket).
2015-01-27 12:26 AM
in reply to: audiojan

User image

Veteran
North Bay Area, CA
I agree with Blastman. You are clearly stretched out too much forward.
2015-01-27 12:50 AM

User image

Richland, Washington
Subject: RE: Bike Fit Advice