General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Mi Titanium 70.3 or Steelhead 70.3 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-28 1:13 PM

User image

Lake Orion
Subject: Mi Titanium 70.3 or Steelhead 70.3
Looking for 70.3 race as prep for IMLOU. I've done Festival of Races a few times but it's a little late in my plan to do this year. Which race would you recommend and why? When will Steelhead sell out? Does MI Titanium sellout?

Other races in August would be considered within around 4-5 hours of Metro Detroit area.

2015-01-28 5:40 PM
in reply to: #5088088

User image

Subject: RE: Mi Titanium 70.3 or Steelhead 70.3
This is my first year stepping up to the longer distances but some of the people on my local team are involved with MiTi. I know that some of them occasionally post here. Let me know if no one answers your sellout question and I'll start asking around.

For what it's worth, I signed up for MiTi over Steelhead as it's cheaper, only a few miles from my house, and virtually no chance of the swim being cancelled. The biggest problems I've heard have been out of the directors control as contractors jumped the gun on road construction. The RD seems to have a good reputation around town and I'm a big fan of supporting the local guy. The biggest drawback is the lack of fan support and the finish line not being an Ironman finish line. Just my two cents.
2015-01-28 7:37 PM
in reply to: jdmitch_BOPer

User image

Extreme Veteran
Detroit, Michigan
I did MiTi last year and can't say enough good things about it. My only complaint was the condition of the roads on the bike, which of course was out of the hands of the race director. Scroll down to see my posts about questions and race report. =)
2015-01-29 4:31 AM
in reply to: #5088216

User image

I just checked and MiTi does not sell out. Like most races, the prices will continue to go up the closer it gets to the event.
2015-01-29 11:34 AM
in reply to: Toefuzz

User image

Lake Orion