General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri bike question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-28 7:03 PM

User image

Durham, North Carolina
Subject: Tri bike question
I have the permission from my wife to pull the trigger and get a tri bike. I currently have a road bike that's a little to big for me with aero bars, but my fitters did the best they can to make it work. That being said, is it worth it to pay more for the higher end bikes with integrated handlebars? I'm just beginning this process so any input you guys have will really help. I'm going to get a fit before I purchase so I make sure I get the right one, but I'm assuming I'll have options. Also if I have multiple local stores that do retul fits can I use that as leverage to get a better deal or have other offers thrown in?

Thanks everyone.

2015-01-28 7:45 PM
in reply to: Lupy

Subject: RE: Tri bike question
First thing is pick the bike shop that you feel the most comfortable with and start looking at their options. At each price point a lot of the bikes will have similar setups. Saving a little bit now but dealing with a crappy bike shop in the long run is a lot more painful. Once you have the bike shop you like picked out (and it can be a few that you are narrowed down to) start going through the bikes and see what ones your body likes the most. I did test rides on many different brands before settling on the one I like the most. Once you get it narrowed down to that point you can start looking at features and options. Things like integrated handlebars and such are usually options on different models of the same frameset.
2015-01-28 7:55 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Originally posted by Lupy