General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Avoiding overtraining - would more frequent easier runs help or make things worse? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-11 8:37 AM

User image

Subject: Avoiding overtraining - would more frequent easier runs help or make things worse?
Hi,
this is my first season of any sort of running and I'm trying to get up to a HM distance. I've been running pretty consistently 3 times a week for about 6 months now and trying to increase the distances slowly. My runs for the last few weeks have been about 1:30-1:45 for the long run and 45 mins to an hour for the two shorter ones. I'm also decreasing these times every 3-4 weeks. Unfortunately however my part-time job is pretty active and I end up basically doing 1-2 hours of strength training 3-4 times a week in addition to about 3 hours of swimming and whatever cycling I fit in.
I'm starting to feel tired a bit too much at the moment and then ended up falling ill last week and was knocked out for a couple of days so I think my body is starting to find it a bit too tough. I'm going to drop back my training but I still have my first HM coming up in about 6 weeks and want to be ready for that. I'm therefore looking at reducing the length of the runs I'm doing but am not sure if I would be better simply scaling back a bit or dropping them down more significantly (say to 30-45 mins for the longest one) but trying to get in 5-6 runs a week so I'll still be ready for the HM. Any advice? Current plan is to try it and see how I feel. If I'm still tired then I'll cut back on the number of runs.

Brendan

2015-02-11 9:02 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Groningen, Netherlands
Subject: RE: Avoiding overtraining - would more frequent easier runs help or make things worse?