General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How does run fitness translate to bike fitness Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-15 4:34 PM

User image

Regular
SF Bay area
Subject: How does run fitness translate to bike fitness

At the Vineman full last year, I had a really tough run.  Yes, it was hot (mid 90's) but still I felt that I was not adequately prepared.  So in the offseason, it has been all about the run.  Did the California International Marathon and managed to BQ for the first time and am currently training for the American River 50-miler that will take place April 4.  During the CIM training had quite a few weeks averaging 50+ miles and my current cycle is 50+ peaking at over 70.   I feel I owe Vineman a rematch, more of a grudge match, come July 25 and am wondering what to do about the bike.

Normally I'd be on the bike already building base, but because of the high run mileage am not.  I've never done this before and am wondering if those of you with more experience can comment on how this very high volume of training will translate to the bike.  Will I be able to ramp up fairly rapidly due to the running fitness, or are the muscle groups so different that there is not much cross-over.

2015-02-15 4:54 PM
in reply to: TTom

User image

Regular
Portland, Oregon
Subject: RE: How does run fitness translate to bike fitness
I would start riding as soon as you can. Right now you are setting yourself up for another lopsided race. Unfortunately, coming into the race with weak cycling means you'll be tempted to override. That will sabotage your running leg, no matter how well prepared for it you will be.
2015-02-15 5:08 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Bad news: Run fitness does not translate well to bike fitness. And as was said above, if your bike is weak, your run will be weaker than you expect even with good run fitness. (Take this from someone who is NOT an accomplished, but started out in triathlon with good run fitness.)