General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie from NY Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-02-17 9:14 PM

Subject: Newbie from NY
Hi folks. I'm a complete newbie to triathlon but it sounds like a ton of fun.

I'm 57, 6' 4" and about 15 pounds into "over-weight." I'm comfortable with the swimming (I've done six mile open water before, but that was quite a while ago) and road cycling (PR for 25 miles around 1:40, a little more recent).

The running is the thing that worries me - I have arthritis in both knees. Strangely, the knees feel better after a brisk 3 mile walk (I take our puppy every day and she'll go 6 miles or more if I let her) so I'm hoping the running will be manageable. On the other hand, if I can't run, I know I can walk 6 miles!

Triathlon sounds like it should be challenging but satisfying and a great way to keep in shape. The people I've been reading about here sound like a great way to keep motivated

Goes anyone have any recommendations for a newbie Olympic tri in, say, August or September? My times don't matter much to me - I really just want to finish, meet interesting people, and have fun (although I'll admit, I find the whole thing a bit intimidating!). Travel is not an issue.

Thanks for reading and I hope to meet some of you at an upcoming event.

2015-02-21 12:22 PM
in reply to: aturnbul

User image

Master
Chapel Hill, NC
Subject: RE: Newbie from NY
Welcome to this site and fun sport of triathlon! Sounds like you have a good solid background already and will do great!

I don't know any OLY races up your way, but I'm sure there are lots. You could ask in the New York group. If you feel like traveling, we have alot of great races here in NC!!!
New Thread
General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie from NY Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

Hello, newbie from NY

Started by plampione
Views: 726 Posts: 4

2012-05-18 7:08 AM plampione

Newbie from NY's Capital

Started by UpStateBeginner
Views: 980 Posts: 9