General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike fit before race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-03-22 3:44 PM

Subject: Bike fit before race?
I've been riding my road bike for over a year now and I don't think it fits me well. It wasn't fitted to me when I bought it, so there's no particular reason to think it would be well adjusted, and when I look at pics of me on the bike I look about as comfortable as I feel (i.e., not very). So I'm thinking about finally getting a professional fit done at my new LBS. I'm taking part in an Oly next weekend, though. If I get the bike fit done this week, will I feel fast and awesome during the race? Or will I be miserable and uncomfortable until I've spend some time in the saddle? What do you think? I've always just ridden any old bike so I have no experience of this.

Also, if you look all hunched and uncomfortable on a bike, is that likely to be just the fit or do you need to work on your form or posture or something as well? I thought I had reasonable posture and core strength because I do a fair bit of yoga, but maybe not.

2015-03-22 5:24 PM
in reply to: #5102571

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Bike fit before race?
If your not comfortable now. What's to lose? However, you've been training your muscles a certain way. A change in fit could have you hitting your muscles slightly different. Could result in injury or pain. Hard to say. But it could also be amazing.
2015-03-22 7:06 PM
in reply to: mangobingo

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member