General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Scheduling/planning my training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-03-25 1:36 AM

Subject: Scheduling/planning my training
Hi everybody

I am new in triathlon but I would very much like to schedule/plan my training.

I can see trainingpeaks.com but I can't find anything else (web-site, software or app). Is that right?

How do you schedule your training in terms of work, leisure interests, other family activities and so on in a busy life?
I am not a pro )

2015-03-25 6:12 AM
in reply to: #5103284

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Scheduling/planning my training
How far out do you know your own schedule? How consistent is your own schedule?

For me i took one of the plans off this site and put it down on a blank calender. Then I put all my personal stuff on there as well. Some times I miss due to a late meeting or my wife going to yoga. But, it happens.

Then I loaded it all into my Google calender. Now, I can look on my phone and see what the time/distance/workout is for each day.
2015-03-25 6:43 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
I basically start each season by working out a weekly plan of when I'm going to do various kinds of workouts. This often has to do with work time commitments, availability of facilities (pool, safe venue for outdoor rides), as well as other variables like weather and traffic. If I was using a pre-made plan, I'd then fit in the workouts around that. If designing my own, first decide how many swims, bikes, and runs I wanted to do. I try to make sure that I didn't schedule things back to back that don't go well together, like hard running less than 24 hours after a hard ride, or swimming after weight training. Then I plug in the specific workouts where they fit best. When I write my own plans I'm usually looking at a number of references for ideas and specific workouts.