General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How do you run so damn fast!!? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2015-03-30 1:07 AM

User image

Subject: How do you run so damn fast!!?
This is only my second year doing triathlons... But this year I started training around some veteran swimmer/biker/runners. That mixed with my recent viewing of the movie "Unbroken" which has left me with one simple question... How do you people go SO fast!!!

Running 6 min miles for 10k+!!?

Biking at 20 mph or faster!! @_@

God, the swimmers... 21 minutes for a 1 mile swim!? I'm lucky to do it in 36... D:

It's amazing! It's so inspiring to me, so much so that I laced up yesterday and attacked a 1 hr run!! I started the first mile at a comfortably uncomfortable pace... 7:20... And I was honestly pretending I was running a 4:12 like Zamperini... Passing the sweet old ladies, walking their little wiener dogs, like it's a cake walk!! Pretending that every sweet elderly person in our neighborhood was Gwen Jorgenson or Gomez...But with every mile, I got slower, fatigued, and eventually disheartened. Bummed and dumbfounded. Hahaha. 1hr and 7.10 deflated miles later I am left with just laying here in bed in awe. How are you guys so so fast!!!??

Haha. I am just totally amazed. I hope to get there someday and leave future newbies just as perplexed as I am, right now. But right now, I'm still going crazy!

2015-03-30 3:50 AM
in reply to: rizztalah

User image

Subject: RE: How do you run so damn fast!!?
I am in a similar position, and I think that a lot of AGers and amateurs would feel the same way. As long as you don't look at it in a negative light, which would put you off training (think: I will NEVER achieve that), I think it is good. I find is so inspiring as well. I may get close to those speeds, I may never get anywhere near it, but as long as I am enjoying myself and seeing improvement in whichever sense, I think it's great!