General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training Tools Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-03-31 10:07 AM

Subject: Training Tools
So I am new to the triathlon world and was wondering how everyone handles their training programs.

What I am looking for is a web based app/site/tool that allows me to create, store and analyze a long-term training program and has the ability to push those training plans to various devices. That way I have a centralized repository to work from and I could push my planed workouts to a garmin-like watch device and/or an indoor bike trainer.

I've read about things like Garmin Connect, Training Peaks, Strava... and its pretty clear that you can analyze data post workout but it is not clear if I can lay out a training plan and then sync up with other devices so that everything is preprogramed prior to beginning my workout.

What I am trying to do is layout a roadmap beforehand and then allow myself to just focus on executing the plan and analyzing my performance, as opposed to having to worry about what I should be doing on a daily basis.

Thanks in advance.

2015-03-31 10:35 AM
in reply to: #5104986

User image

Subject: RE: Training Tools
I use Garmin Connect and it has the ability to create workouts and sync them with your Garmin watch. For example, I currently have my bike on an indoor trainer, and I have a workout set up that specifies a certain RPM range for a certain time. When I start my workout, my watch tells me I need to be in this range for this long, and then displays my current RPM so I can make sure I'm doing well. If I go above or below the range, my watch beeps/vibrates to let me know.

The workouts are ridiculously customizable (at least, I find them so), with variables such as speed, heart rate, or time (among others) being your driving factor. You can create a workout for swimmimg, biking and running and sync them to your watch if you want.