General Discussion Triathlon Talk » PSI Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-08 2:12 PM

User image

Subject: PSI Question
I know there's a thread over in the main forum regarding PSI sensitivity, but this isn't regarding sensitivity so I thought I'd post my question here and not hi-jack the other thread.

Long story short, I'm new to biking. I started last June and am still learning alot as I go. Turns out that for about half my outdoor rides last year, and alot of my trainer rides this winter, my tires were severely underinflated. To the tune of 20-40 PSI. I only had one pinch flat; don't ask how I didn't have more because I don't know.

Anyway, about a month ago I realized my mistake after talking with someone at my LBS. Since then, I've had my tires properly inflated on the trainer.

About a week ago I put some new tires on my bike (Vittoria Rubino III), and the sidewall says "100 PSI min 130 PSI max". Keeping the tires inflated in this range isn't a problem, but after reading the other thread about PSI sensitivity, I imagine I'll be playing with the PSI some to find out what ranges are most comfortable for me. I know in the other thread some people mentioned they like to ride at around 90 PSI. My question is: if I find the 100 PSI minimum value to be a bit much for me, am I risking damage to my tires if I ride at 90 or 95 PSI?

2015-04-08 6:01 PM
in reply to: Toffels

User image

Brooklyn, New York
Subject: RE: PSI Question
What's up man, you could've thrown this up in that thread I started. No hijacking sensitivity lol
Don't know about the Vittoria's, but remember those other 3 variables: Bodyweight / Tire&Rim width / Road conditions.
2015-04-09 6:38 PM
in reply to: Toffels

User image

Veteran
Hudson Valley
Subject: RE: PSI Question