General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weight gain with triathlon training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-21 12:39 AM

Subject: Weight gain with triathlon training
Hi all

I am a spinning instructor and overall quite fit. I started doing weight and body weight functional training last year and the kilo's just fell off and I looked really good, body fat dropped with about 10%.

My goal this year is to finish a half ironman so now I have started doing only cardio everyday and now I am gaining weight and loosing muscle.

Has anyone else experienced this?

I am training between 7-9 hours per week and my eating habits are the same.

Please help??

2015-04-28 1:11 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Weight gain with triathlon training

Don't know if you're male or female, but this is exactly what happens with me.  I'm currently training for a June Ironman (my first) and racing a Half Ironman this Saturday.  I'm up a good 10-12 pounds over where I prefer to be when I'm not endurance training.  It's frustrating, but I have come to the conclusion it is my body's way of dealing with the stress and preparing for the next training session.  I wish the weight looked more muscular but unfortunately to me it just looks like chub! I've made peace with it--I feel strong and know this is the body that will get me through these big races.    This is apparently a pretty common female reaction to endurance training.

Edited by ingleshteechur 2015-04-28 1:13 PM
2015-04-29 3:33 PM
in reply to: ingleshteechur

User image

Champion
Chicago, Illinois
Subject: RE: Weight gain with triathlon training
I know there is an old joke in my running club that people who train for the marathon will gain 10 lbs when one of there goals is to lose weight. (I was no stranger myself)

I think this is because couple key issues