General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ooops, I signed up for an Ironman. Am I Doomed? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 8

Ooops, I signed up for an Ironman. Am I Doomed?
OptionResults
It's not possible to reach Ironman level in that time frame.
It will take 25+ hours per week training
It will take 20-24 hours per week
It will take 15-19 hours per week
It will take 10-14 hours per week
It will take 5-9 hours per week
Under 5 hours per week is sufficient
No training is required

2015-04-23 3:36 PM

User image

, England
Subject: Ooops, I signed up for an Ironman. Am I Doomed?
Hi all,

I am new to triathlon, in fact endurance racing in general. I have no base fitness nor much previous experience of cycling or swimming. I did a 10km fun run a few years ago though. I decided wanted to do a triathlon, so I signed up for the Nice Ironman.

The timeframe to get from nowhere to Ironman is 10 months (just over 2 months to go now). My friends and everyone I have spoken to who have competed Ironman events think I am doomed to failure. A few of the more optimistic ones believe it is possible with 15-20 hours of training per week.

I wanted to gain a bit more of consensus on the feasibility of me completing in the 16 hour time limit Nice has. The bike course is tough but the marathon is flat. Also what sort of training hours are required per week over the 10 months.

2015-04-23 3:51 PM
in reply to: Guest

User image

New user
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Ooops, I signed up for an Ironman. Am I Doomed?

Originally posted by 5Sigma  I have no base fitness nor much previous experience of cycling or swimming.