General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bad Customer Service at Helen's Cycles in Santa Monica Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-25 9:12 PM

User image

Los Angeles
Subject: Bad Customer Service at Helen's Cycles in Santa Monica
It appears that Helen's has this "big" reputation here in L.A. So I went in today to buy a Cateye cyclocomputer. Please note that I found the Cateye Mity 8 on Ebay for $22. Instead of waiting for it to be shipped, I decided to go to Helen's because I do get a 20% discount for being an L.A. triclub member.

So I bought the Mity 8 (for $26 after my discount). I went home to install it, and realized that I can't because of my aerobars. I find out that there is an aerobar mount which also needs to be purchased. Yet, the guys at Helen's didn't mention it to me. It is my opinion that as a beginner, I know nothing really, and as the "bike experts" they could have asked me if I have aerobars. It would make sense to ask because they could also sell me the mount as well as the computer.

So, not only did I pay 4 dollars more for the cateye, I can't install it until I get the mount. I realize its a small issue, but I won't be returning to Helen's. I received waaaayyyyyy better customer service at Triathlon Lab in Redondo Beach.

I recommend Triathlon Lab highly if you live on the Westside/Southbay area.

2006-08-25 10:32 PM
in reply to: #522619

User image

Extreme Veteran
Geneva, Illinois
Subject: RE: Bad Customer Service at Helen's Cycles in Santa Monica
cycosuicide - 2006-08-25 9:12 PM

It appears that Helen's has this "big" reputation here in L.A. So I went in today to buy a Cateye cyclocomputer. Please note that I found the Cateye Mity 8 on Ebay for $22. Instead of waiting for it to be shipped, I decided to go to Helen's because I do get a 20% discount for being an L.A. triclub member.