General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help me with my summer training plan for a sprint, HM and OLY? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-03 4:54 PM

User image

Regular
Oregon
Subject: Help me with my summer training plan for a sprint, HM and OLY?
Hey all. I've got a sprint on 6-6-15. I've done this race 2 other times and though I'd like to improve my times it's a pretty easy race, I'm not too worried about it.

I've signed up for my first half marathon on 8-16-2015. I am somewhat worried about this as I've never run more than 10k.

But my big thing, my "A" race is I'm currently training for my first ever Olympic Tri 9-20-2015.

First of all, do we think that plan is too aggressive? I think it's OK but I'm no expert. 5 weeks between first HM and first Oly is OK?

Secondly, if pursuing this race plan is ok then which training plan do I follow? the HM training plan has me doing A LOT more running than the Oly training plan calls for....(obviously) not just in miles per run, but in runs per week (or miles per week).

Here's my initial thoughts...mostly follow the Oly training plan but just substitute the bigger runs until I finish the HM...then the last 5 weeks just revert back to the Oly training plan?

any input is appreciated.

2015-05-03 6:05 PM
in reply to: #5112725

User image

New user
Subject: RE: Help me with my summer training plan for a sprint, HM and OLY?
I trained for an Olympic and a HM on back to back weekends. I just extended my long runs and did a lot of fast finish runs instead of a ton of brick workouts. Sadly, the HM was canceled but I felt ready. Good luck!
2015-05-03 7:10 PM
in reply to: themissj1981