UK Triathlon Forum England » Newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-10 2:34 AM

Subject: Newbie
Hi everyone, I was just after some inspiration really. I'm totally new to all this, triathlon stuff, well exercise in general really, and reading this Im not sure what on earth has possessed me to even think I can complete one. I'm 45 and unfit and don't know if Im too late to start training?
Any advice would be grateful.

2015-06-09 7:54 AM
in reply to: Emmajd

New user

Lagos, Lagos
Subject: RE: Newbie
Hey Emmajd,

I'm 36 and have been on the couch for what feels like eons. I'll be taking part in the super sprint at the London triathlon in August. What distance have you signed up for and where?

It is all a bit daunting but I figure as it is my first race, I will focus on completing as opposed to time. I'm currently following the BT Aggressive 10 week mini sprint program (and due to extreme laziness and some illness, I'm a week behind). However, as the goal is to finish and not to place first, I figure I still have enough time if I continue to train consistently, to do so without dying.
2015-07-19 4:32 PM
in reply to: #5114189

User image

Hi and welcome to the world of Triathlon
I'm Ian, almost 50 and completed a sprint and an Olympic distance tri this year. The training is hard but most enjoyable. You won't regret it.
I am also training for a half marathon in October and a full marathon in May leading up to a full ironman in July Nextel!
I find this site very informative and friendly. The training plans are great too!

I'm based in Cambs. Train mostly on my own due to working shifts.
I'm sure you will enjoy being here
2015-07-19 4:36 PM
in reply to: #5129727

User image