General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Energy gels Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-19 5:14 PM

Subject: Energy gels
Hello people !
I am a 16 Year old triathlete and this june the 7th i will be competing in my first Olympic distance triathlon.
Because i have been doing 1/8th triathlon for over 4 years now i do know my ins and outs to the sport but i do have a question.
since i will be doing my first long-ish triathlon i was wondering which energy gel is the best to use.
Kind regarts
Ruben

2015-05-19 6:13 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Energy gels
In Olympic distance you probably won't be taking in that much nutrition--probably one to two gels on the bike and one on the run. Some people just use a sports drink with calories instead. There are a lot of different kinds of gels and I've found it's mainly a matter of experimenting to find those whose taste and texture are palatable and don't upset your stomach. Try some of them in training, especially on a longer or more intense effort, to see what works. In general, the ones with a sweeter flavor or thicker consistency can be harder to get down if you have a tendency toward gagging/nausea at race intensity. A thinner gel with a less intense flavor (or sports drink) might work better. For longer efforts, they can be a bit thicker or have stronger flavors (if you like). Some people also use solid food (like energy bars, chocolate, dried fruit) for HIM and up but for Oly I'd recommend gels or liquids due to convenience.

My personal favorites for Oly distance are Hammer Apple Cinnamon for the bike, and Powerbar Tangerine for the run. Both have a thinner consistency, and the tangerine also has electrolytes and caffeine. The chocolate-based flavors are popular but I find them hard to swallow in a short more intense race. Do like them for training and longer events, though.

Edited by Hot Runner 2015-05-19 6:14 PM
2015-05-19 6:44 PM