General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Open water Swim near Arlington Heights Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-05-28 1:05 PM

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Subject: Open water Swim near Arlington Heights
Newbie here. Signed up last week for the twin lakes sprint tri in Palatine. Now I am let's say a little anxious. I have never done open water swim and would like to get some practice before race day.

Appreciate any guidance on the following

#1 Lakes in the area where I could practice.
#2 Will I have to swim all 700 or are there section where I could possibly wade or catch my breath (I am currently able to do 7 sets of 25x4 meter in the pool).

Regards
hpn

2015-05-31 7:12 PM
in reply to: hpn

Subject: RE: Open water Swim near Arlington Heights
Can you swim at Busse Lake in the Schaumburg area? I was going to recommend Centennial Beach in Naperville, but I think that might be just as far as driving out to Lake Michigan.
2015-06-01 6:07 AM
in reply to: hpn

User image

New user

Congrats on signing up! It's a great race - I will be there.

AH really doesn't have any lake options. I am pretty sure you cannot swim in Busse Lake.

A few options:

1. Lake Andrea just across the border. They have a life guarded open water swim option. https://recplexonline.com/aquatics/lake-andrea-beach

2. Grayslake. My coach's group, Summit Steps, meets there every Friday morning (very early). No cost and don't need to be a member. NIce water, beach entry, you can go out as far as you are comfortable going. http://summitstepsmultisport.com/open-water-swims/

3. Together We Tri in Glenview. They have open water swimming in a private lake in the area. Don't know too much about them but I think you can buy a punch card and stop in for a few swims. Worth checking out if you are looking for a more structured intro to open water swimming. http://www.togetherwetri.com/

Hope this helps. Good luck on the race and training.
2015-06-01 8:19 AM
in reply to: sdienhart