General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Sports Bra for First Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-06-03 3:27 PM

Subject: Sports Bra for First Tri
Hey everyone!

I'm new to the BT community and doing my first sprint tri next weekend (I did one last year where I was able to kayak instead of swim)!

I've got a two piece kit, but I'm not sure what kind of sports bra I should wear. And by that I guess I just mean if I can/should where one with pads. I definitely don't want to make things more difficult for myself, but the thought of wearing a thin bra without any padding makes me a little uncomfortable. If that's how it's done, then I'm all for it. Just wanted to seek some advice from experienced athletes.

Also, if you have any suggestions that can be found at a store like Dick's Sporting Goods, that would be super helpful. I'm hoping to pick something up this weekend so I can get a couple practice swims in with it.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2015-06-04 7:37 AM
in reply to: AJ182421

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Sports Bra for First Tri
It really depends on your size and what level of support you're comfortable with. I'm not that big (34 A or B depending on brand) and get by with the built-in bra in my tri-suit; many women find it's not enough, though. When I do need a bra for biking and running (or if I wear my tri-suit that doesn't have a built-in bra), I usually wear a kind of "sports bra" from Danskin that's sold at Walmart. Nothing fancy but I like it as there are no hooks or anything to rub or scratch, and it comes in different colors. It's fine for me even for a 3-hour ride or 2-hour run. The same brand also has sports bras with more support for larger women or those who just feel more comfortable with a bit more substantial bra. I think the key is to keep anything that might rub (fasteners, lacy trim) to an absolute minimum or avoid it, while getting the level of support you need.