General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Howdy Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-06-07 7:44 AM

Subject: Howdy
Hey there. I'm a 28 year-old surgery resident looking to get into this crazy sport. I work about 80-120 hours a week and have a wife and 2 small (< 2 years old) children at home, so life is busy! But we make time for what matters, right? To make things more interesting, I am a type 1 (insulin dependent) diabetic. I have an insulin pump and am pretty well-controlled, so we'll see. My first goal is to train for a sprint distance with the eventual plan of working up to Olympic, and then who knows? Want to be smart and patient with my training, especially in the context of a pretty hectic life at this point. I appreciate any new advice you may have and look forward to getting to know y'all!

Edited by ZofranAggie 2015-06-07 7:45 AM

2015-06-07 1:59 PM
in reply to: ZofranAggie

User image

Extreme Veteran
Langley, BC, 'Wet Coast' Canada
Subject: RE: Howdy
Howdy, and welcome to BT.
There are local forums here, too , where you might find someone local to train with.

Good luck with your new addiction, errr.... journey

2015-06-14 10:05 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Silicon Valley
Welcome to BT and the sport. While I am not a diabetic I am very involved with the ADA. My daughter is a Type 1 and I sit on the exec committee for our local Step Out Walk. Given that you are pursuing the career you are, it is clear you are not letting that control you.

My daughter is a runner. By now I am sure you know the routine. As you start to train more you will learn how your body acts. The best piece of advice I can give you is to keep really good records on what you eat, when you eat and how tour numbers are before and after training. I know you keep some info because you have to but make it comprehensive. Having done that my daughter knows what foods and when are best to get her through a workout.