General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Race in 3 Weeks and Recent Shoulder Injury Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-06-22 4:01 PM

New user

Subject: Race in 3 Weeks and Recent Shoulder Injury
I am signed up for my first iron distance triathlon in three weeks. For the most part, training has been going pretty well until yesterday when I fell off my bike going over some wet railroad tracks on the last mile of a 108 mile ride. I think my left shoulder took the brunt of the fall, but my left leg is also scraped up pretty well, too. Immediately after, my shoulder was sore, but I had okay range of motion. However since I've woken up this morning my shoulder hurts when I move it across my body or in an uppercut like motion.

I spoke with an ER doc in passing (I'm a med student, so there's a lot of doctors floating around the hospital!) who told me it's my acromioclavicular joint ligaments that are bothering me and recommended putting my arm in a sling, taking Aleve, and icing it. I'm going to see a doctor tomorrow morning to take a better look at it, but I am freaking out about my race that is now less than three weeks away. I was planning on another week of hard training and then tapering for the two weeks before the race.

Obviously, I'll wait to hear what the doctor says, but does anyone have any advice on recovering from or treating this sort of injury? Is rest, sleeping a ton, and ibuprofen the best thing I can do, or is there some type of crosstraining I could do that won't aggravate it so I can maintain my fitness? I was thinking maybe a recumbent exercise bike might not affect it, and mentally it's killing me not to do anything! Thanks for your input, and ride safe out there!

2015-06-23 10:37 AM
in reply to: hanmeg03

, Idaho
Subject: RE: Race in 3 Weeks and Recent Shoulder Injury