General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Backing off swim training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-06-25 8:24 AM

Subject: Backing off swim training?
I wanted to canvas the audience to see what impact a leave of absence at the pool would have on my overall swim performance. Just to give you some context my pre-tri background was in running. I'm pretty new to tri so my swimming and cycling experience is pretty limited. Recently I made the decision to put a lot more time into my run because (running background talking) I'm a believer in running everyday and I just don't feel good about the work i've done running as a triathlete (it shows in the results). Yea I want to be a good triathlete but I also have a desire to put in miles so its a balancing act. Anyway I'm a mid-to-back of the pack athlete so my performance is all relative but my strongest event in tri has been the swim hands down. My last race was an Oly. My age group had 122 finishers and I finished 81st (40th in the swim, 86 in the bike, and 84 in the run). I'd really like to work on my bike fitness and maintain my program to ramp up my run mileage so I was thinking about taking a few months off away from the pool after my last race this fall so my schedule would accomodate. I just worry that all the gains I got from my pool time over the last couple of years will be difficult to get back. Any thoughts?

2015-06-25 8:37 AM
in reply to: Gatornate

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada
Subject: RE: Backing off swim training?

I think your fears are justified.  Former swimmers (people who swam competitively as kids) can generally get away with it since they have such a large background to draw on and the technique is so ingrained that it comes back quickly.  For someone like yourself, you may well end up back at square one with a big uphill battle to get back to where you are.