General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Time to tri!? (completely lost newbie) Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-07-19 4:57 PM

Subject: Time to tri!? (completely lost newbie)
Hello all!

After watching today's incredible Ironman UK in Bolton, and after a few months of toying with the idea (but not actually doing anything about it), I've decided I would like to complete an Ironman 70.3.

I am new to almost every aspect of the sport. I was a member of my uni cycling club, dabbling with both mtn biking and road biking, and currently have a 2011 Bianchi Via Nirone 7 road bike, which is used shamefully little. The other two aspects are completely new to me, in that the last time I ran was two years ago during a Tough Mudder event, and the last time I swam properly was probably when I was in primary school. I'm being completely honest here - I am horrendously unfit. I managed to run 10 minutes from where the car was parked this morning to the swimming start line to watch the first athletes get in the water, and I was out of puff.

It seems like a very daunting and complex tri-world out there, with so much advice, and a very friendly crowd, but I just have absolutely no idea where to start! I've looked at some training plans, but they are all max 20 weeks. I couldn't seem to find a full years training plan for a Ironman 70.3, but perhaps that is because you don't need it? (but I have a feeling I probably do need it, judging by my levels of fitness...)