General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Heart rate Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-07-21 4:34 PM

Subject: Heart rate Question
I have been training towards my first half ironman for the last 2 months and recently got a coach to help get me ready for my race in 11 weeks...To start with, i am 36 and weigh 260 pounds...My question is, before starting with a coach i was running about 10-12 miles a week and on my runs heart rate was averaging 159BPM and mile pacing was roughly 10:30 on 3 milers and 11:30 on long 5 miler...Now i am working with a coach and he is suggesting that i keep my heart rate under 145 through all of my training activity which is causing me to have to walk every 200 yards and is making my pace 14-15 minutes/mile...I feel much better after my runs but man i am so slow...My goal is to finish the race...What are your guys thoughts on this as a training strategy...i am not really second guessing what i am being told, i just want to insure that what i am doing is getting me closer to where i will need to be in the next few months!

2015-07-21 4:47 PM
in reply to: #5130262

User image

Subject: RE: Heart rate Question
Without any other data it's hard to give an answer. On what is he basing the 145 number? Does it feel like you are going as fast as you can possibly go for those 3-5 mile runs when you are at 159? If so then yes, that's too fast.

If you have to walk every 200 yards, that's fine if it's helping you extend the length of your runs. I presume your coach wants you to build up mileage from the 10-12 miles per week, and the best way to do that is to make sure you are going an easier pace. So it sounds like good advice on the surface.
2015-07-21 4:59 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by run forest run