General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Which bike should I buy without spending a fortune? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-07-23 11:59 PM

User image

Subject: Which bike should I buy without spending a fortune?
Hi guys! I'm totally new to this sport and did my first sprint with a mountain bike. I did not realize what a difference the bike would do and realize that I need to get a new bike. I'm not really interested in spending thousands on a bike but would like a decent bike that is comfortable, lightweight and of decent quality. Any recommendations?

2015-07-24 7:15 AM
in reply to: TriCDA

User image

Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Which bike should I buy without spending a fortune?
Keep an eye on the used market (craigslist, etc.) as that's where you'll get the most bang for your buck. Getting a fit analysis done first so you know what sizes will work best for you would be a good investment.

You don't absolutely need a new bike though - you could put slick tires on your MTB for now to get you the extra speed.
2015-07-24 7:42 AM

User image

, Massachusetts
I second the idea of looking for a used bike. You might also want to consider a road bike rather than a tri-specific bike at first, until you get a few more races under your belt and decide if it's something you're going to stick with. Used road bikes are easier to find and more versatile than tri bikes, and will still provide you with many of the benefits over a mountain bike. I raced my first couple seasons on a used Cannondale that cost me $400, and just purchased my first tri bike this winter.
2015-07-24 7:54 AM

User image

Exton, PA
question??

What is your budget? $500, $700, $1,000 ???

Is cycling something you think you'll stick with for years to come?

Road bike or tribike? (I usually suggest people start with a road bike)

You want to make sure you get something that fits well, if it fits you'll be comfortable and you'll enjoy riding.