General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming issues Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-07-29 9:28 PM

User image

Subject: Swimming issues
I have wanted to do a triathlon for a couple of years but I have always come up with reasons not to do it. I love running, I've ran a couple of marathons and 6 half marathons. I started biking this spring and did a century ride with a buddy a couple of weeks ago. But I am SO not a swimmer!
Some friends have talked me into trying a sprint triathlon in 6 weeks (haven't signed up yet) that has a 500 yard pool swim, 15 mile bike, and a 5K. It sounds like it should be something I can do but I really struggle with the swimming. I am pretty much self taught up to this point. I have watched a ton of YouTube videos and I feel like I know what I should doing. My struggle is with breathing. I do fine on the first 25 yards, but after that my form starts to fall apart and I end up sucking more water than air when I breath. I can get to 50 yards but that is about it.
My question is, would I be better off just forgetting about this race and find a swimming coach and work it out over the winter. At this point, I don't see the point in swimming a lap, sucking wind for 30 seconds and repeating during a race. Just seems like I would be in slowing people down and getting in the way. The best I can do 500 yards right now is in about 23 minutes.Today I tried just swimming 25s and keeping my form together and it went better, but I'm just not sure 6 weeks is long enough to make that kind of progress.

2015-07-29 9:37 PM
in reply to: #5131963

Subject: RE: Swimming issues
First of all, congatulations on considering a triathlon! I think once you've done your first sprint, you'll be hooked