General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Will I need a wetsuit for this race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-08-19 10:06 PM

, Tennessee
Subject: Will I need a wetsuit for this race?
I am new to triathalon and am hoping to do my first sprint in October (Heber Springs, AR). The swim is a tad short of standard sprints (500 yards). The lake temperature is usually in the mid-70s according to the race website. I know above 78 wetsuits are not allowed, but if the temperature is say...73-76,should I wear one? Will it not matter at that temp and only 500 yards or will I be miserable without one? I have NEVER even put on a wetsuit. I really don't want to purchase one until the spring and only if I am going to get into this long term. I love the training, but want to do a race first before I start purchasing a lot of stuff. On the other hand, I know I need to practice in the wetsuit anyway just in case and I don't want to be that idiot that gets hypothermia because she tried to swim without one at that temp.Thoughts? If I did use one, would a sleeveless be ok for that temp?

2015-08-19 10:23 PM
in reply to: turnip13

User image

Regular
Pueblo, Colorado
Subject: RE: Will I need a wetsuit for this race?
At those temps, I think you'd be fine without a wetsuit. I've not heard of too many people that aren't MORE obsessed with triathlon after they do a race, but you could certainly do the first sprint and then wait until later on a purchase. Another option would be to rent. Several companies including DeSoto and XTerra have online rentals that you can do. Some will even credit the cost of the rental back to a purchase if you go that route.
2015-08-19 10:28 PM
in reply to: #5135987

Comfort is very personal. If they forbid it at 76 where you live, i would be surprised if you get hypotermia for one less degree (75).