General Discussion Triathlon Talk » bike build questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-08-21 10:19 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Langley, BC, 'Wet Coast' Canada
Subject: bike build questions
I recently posted a Q on the triathlon talk forum about grease, and thought I ought to start a new thread for these questions...
I am building up a frame I bought a number of years back, using parts I took off another frame today, as well as a few items I accumulated along the way.It is my first time assembling a bike ...

The brake set I removed from the Javelin (diacompe) does not fit onto the new frame (Old Cannondale multisport 2000).
The front brake went on ok, but the rear brake has an issue. The allen key 'nut' that is supposed to fit into the hole on the horizontal part bridging the seat stays is too small. Do these allen or hex-head 'nuts' come in more than one outer diameter?? It obviously fit into the hole on the Javelin frame as it held the brake on just fine, but seems to be one size too large for the Cannondale...

2nd Q - When routing the brake cable thru the brake lever, then outside of the base bar into a small hole in the Vision base bar, should I be using a very short section of cable housing? The cable goes out the back of the lever, then into a small hole in the base bar, then inside the base bar until it comes out the back of the base bar, at which point it will need the housing to route it down to the brakes.
Is there somewhere a very clear picture of the cable routing BEFORE the bar tape is added?

3rd question re crankset removal. I have not seen a crankset like this before... On the driveside, outside of the spindle at center, is a 'quarter' -sized 'cover'?? with two very small holes opposite one another. I hope the description makes sense. Does this need to be removed? If so, how? What tool?