General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Personal Training Review Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-08-23 8:32 PM

User image

Subject: Personal Training Review
Hello,

I am pretty new to multi-sport and really got into the training about 8 weeks ago. Being an ex-college ice hockey player and now desk jockey I knew what my physical peak used to be for that sport. I also know that ice hockey isn't multi-sport. With this in mind I started off with about 3 weeks of running to get myself to a reasonable fitness level.

Once I felt comfortable with my fitness level I jumped right into doing "Simulated Sprint Triathlons". What I am referring to is swimming in the gyms pool, hitting the spinning bikes, and running on the treadmill at sprint triathlon distances or greater. I am doing about 3 of these a week with an off day here or there and single sport days in between where I will run the hills of Western, PA (as an example). The last few weeks I have been picking an event to extend further than sprint distance as my "push sport" for the brick (today I added a 10k at the end instead of doing a 5k).

I have also changed the way I have been eating, via 21 day fix, and have dropped from 180lbs to 170lbs. On a 5'10 frame I know I have some more weight to lose and am targeting around 163-165lbs.

For the swim:
I have been getting my volume up for the most part as it took me a few pool sessions to get comfortable in the water and really find my stroke and breathing rhythms. Lately I have been doing 300 yard springs to push my limits and lower my overall times. it seems to be working.

For the bike:
I have been building volume, doing interval training, and push-up pyramids. This is quickly becoming a strength for me. My FT Power seems to be in the 222-227 Watts range after documenting a few workouts with my buddy who is a spinning instructor. I have focused on Watts based training.

For the run: