General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Clicking Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-09-19 10:22 AM

User image

Master
Falls Church, Virginia
Subject: Bike Clicking
First off, I am an absolute bike noob. I have no idea what a bike is supposed to sound like, so school me! Second, we aren't talking about a road/tri bike here, if that makes any difference. I have a Linus Dutchi8. Her name is Peggy, and we buy groceries together.
Now, here's my issue. Whenever I pedal down with my left foot, there's this metallic clicking noise. As far as anyone knows, does this sound like a normal mechanical noise that bikes make? Perhaps it was just really quiet this morning so it was the first time I noticed it? Or could this be some kind of misalignment issue. Let me know if more information/pictures/etc are needed to help diagnose. I bought it used from a friend who basically never rode it, so I don't have a LBS yet or any bike-knowledgeable friends IRL. Much appreciated!!

ETA: I realize the absolute absurdity of someone who has been on BT for 10 years and has done three tris having no idea about bikes. Never to late to start over and take it seriously, right!

Edited by Atlantia 2015-09-19 10:27 AM

2015-09-19 12:39 PM
in reply to: Atlantia

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Bike Clicking
could be a loose crank arm or bad pedal if it's just making a sound with the left side. also the bottom bracket could have a problem,.

does it make the sound with only going up hills or all the time when pedaling ?

does the sound seem to come from where your foot is or somewhere else ?

is the pedaling smooth or is there a disturbance (grinding, clunk, etc) when the sound happens ?
2015-09-19 2:15 PM

User image